The construction interview

21 02 2008

It has been really busy this week, as the formative dissertation structure presentations are tomorrow, and while it is in the early stages I’m not confident yet about presenting it to people. But today is the day for working on it. There is a feeling that I’m not doing as much research as I could be for the dissertation, and will have to remedy that today.

In other news, ventured home on Monday till Wednesday morning for the interview at Willmott Dixon. It was lovely, got to see my lovely family while claiming travel expenses. However, the interview was good but difficult. The psychometric testing in particular was a bit of a mind melt, especially the logic questions. They messed my brain up quite a bit simply because with all logic things (or so it seems) the language is slightly hard to grasp. Give me Shakespeare any day.

So they weren’t quite sure what to do with me. According to my personality test I am a sales person. I influence people round to my point of view, usually in order to sell them things. I admit I do do that, but I would never use my powers for evil. That’s probably why they’re so interested in me, they want me as a front like Hayley (the friend who fast tracked me bless her) is for the company. She is so immediately likeable, so she is a great networking person to have at the front. Love her to bits bless her. Anyway, they might place me in another company called Rethinking that is a subsidiary of WD, or with the actual Design Managers despite the fact I have absolutely no construction knowledge. But then they might not offer me anything, and if I do accept any offers I have to stay there for 4 years minimum. Can I, the commitment phobe, commit myself for that long?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

