Degree Show Loveliness

16 06 2008

Last week was a killer. It was the second week of temping at A&L in the mornings, and in the afternoons I was pimping myself out for a flatscreen TV for my prototype point of sale unit. When I eventually secured one from the lovely fellahs at Richers Sounds it was taken directly to Sloane’s factory, where I spent most of my afternoons last week going “ooooooh” at how it was developing. The engineers there were absolutely fantastic, and because they simply couldn’t get rid of me they were really willing to talk and tell me how everything was going. It’s beautiful, I’ll put photos in another post.

The actualy Friday night ceremony went really smoothly, but the few days beforehand did not. There was a massive mixup at the printers, and my a1 research posters were printed a4, and the a4 promo posters were printed a1. Disaster! It was fixed just in time, but I had to run home to let my Mum in (who was napping in the car outside the house haha) so we could literally get ready and then route march to the exhibiton. It was so cool my Mum was able to get there early, it would’ve been terrible if she missed the awards ceremony, she’s been to every one of my competitions as far back as I can remember so it was amazing she was there for this one too. Love you Mum.

Had the best night on Sunday with Hayley as well, especially because I haven’t seen her in a few millenia. We were ripping the student discount at Pi Bar, christening the new shoes in style!

The lovely man who interviewed me for the temporary marketing officer position was there for the presentation too bless him, although he was invited I didn’t think he’d actually turn up. But he did, which was lovely although I didn’t get to talk to him. It would be cool to do some freelance work with the Phoenix at some point, so I’m going to start resharpening my web skills again, especially on Dreamweaver. (I know the code ends up ugly, but it’s a worthwhile skill to have). I do miss the geek talks that used to happen with certain people, but then….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

