Diets

28 01 2009

Some of the people at work are on this ridiculous Kellog’s Crunchy Nut Cornflake ‘2 bowls a day challenge’.

I think it is stupid.

I feel quite passionately about food (now I can actually afford to buy quality stuff!) and this ‘challenge’, in my opinion, is nothing but a thinly veiled marketing ploy to get people to eat more cereal. Come on, sugar and dairy for two meals a day? Where’s the protein and the carbs that you need to survive? You’d have to get it all in the evening meal, which is a lot of pressure on one plate.

It’s better to start the day with a more substantial meal than end with it surely? As then all the food you inevitably end up eating (‘compensating’ for the day of abstinence) sits in your stomach overnight, the worst time to be digesting!

Maybe I am approaching this from the wrong angle, maybe it does work. But the only way I can see it working is by making people’s stomachs shrink (something they can do by not snacking) and encouraging them to eat more fruit out of sheer hunger.

If I had to choose a ‘diet’ it would be a juice detox. But then I can’t be bothered to make my own juices in order to detox, and know I would end up collapsing if I had to do it during a working week. How people manage to function and detox on just juice I will never know.

On a side note, getting enough b12 is really tough without supplements. I didn’t take mine for a week and got really tired and shaky again. It’s rubbish, hate relying on a tablet. But not enough to start eating meat again.

Mmmm. Muesli. nom nom.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

